Neurosurgery’s Latest Journal Club Finalists

Entries from Neurosurgery‘s latest Journal Club competition finalists are now available online:

Emory University School of Medicine – Krishanthan Vigneswaran MD, Kumar Vasudevan MD, Jason M. Frerich MD

Penn State Hershey Medical Center – Emily P. Sieg, MD, Jonathon Cooke, MD, Gareth Davies, MD, Einar Bogason, MD, Nick Brandmeir, MD, Nameth Hussain, MD, Ephraim Church, MD, Pratik Rohatgi, MD, Brian Anderson, MD, Russell Payne, MD, Endrit Ziu, MD, Justin Davanzo, MD, Sandip Savaliya, MD

Harvard Medical School – Pablo A. Valdes, MD, PhD, Yasser Jeelani, MD, Wenya Linda Bi, MD, PhD

Barrow Neurological Institute – Corey T. Walker, MD, Zaman Mirzadeh, MD

The University of Toronto, Division of Neurosurgery, (Authors: Mansouri, Alireza MD; Nater, Anick MD; Martin, Allan Russell MD) won Neurosurgery’s latest Journal Club competition. Click on the link to read their winning entry, published in the February 2015 issue of Neurosurgery, “Journal Club: 5-Aminolevulinic Acid-Derived Tumor Fluorescence: The Diagnostic Accuracy of Visible Fluorescence Qualities as Corroborated by Spectrometry and Histology and Postoperative Imaging.”

A sincere thank you to those programs which contributed to last quarter’s journal club competition.

Neurosurgery’s Journal Club extends the existing practice of Journal Club common to all neurosurgical training programs in which residents and fellows critically review published articles under the guidance of faculty. Journal Club submissions comprise a scholarly review written by neurosurgical residents/fellows based on top-ranked articles recently published in Neurosurgery.

For formatting and submission information, please visit