Entries from Neurosurgery‘s latest Journal Club competition finalists are now available online:

University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry – James E. Towner, MD, Stephen Sandwell, MD, Kristopher T. Kimmell, MD

Emory University School of Medicine – Kumar Vasudevan, MD, Andrew Boucher, MD, Oluwaseun Akinduro, BS

University of Alabama at Birmingham – Kimberly Kicielinski, MD, Matthew C. Davis, MD, Christopher D. Shank, MD, Elizabeth N. Kuhn, MD, Lauren E. Rotman, MD

University of Kansas Medical Center – Kyle A. Smith, MD

The Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City, Utah (Authors: Mazur, Marcus D. MD; Ravindra, Vijay M. MD) won Neurosurgery’s latest Journal Club competition. Click on the link to read their winning entry, published in the November 2015 issue of Neurosurgery, “Journal Club: Surgical Management of Trigeminal Neuralgia: Use and Cost-Effectiveness From an Analysis of the Medicare Claims Database.”

The authors of the original work have written a response to the winner, which can be read here.

A sincere thank you to those programs which contributed to last quarter’s journal club competition.

Neurosurgery’s Journal Club extends the existing practice of Journal Club common to all neurosurgical training programs in which residents and fellows critically review published articles under the guidance of faculty. Journal Club submissions comprise a scholarly review written by neurosurgical residents/fellows based on top-ranked articles recently published in Neurosurgery.

For formatting and submission information, please visit